Innovation of the Year Awards

The Office of Technology Transfer (OTT) is hosting the university’s inaugural Innovation of the Year Awards to celebrate innovation at Morgan and to recognize the contributions of members of the Morgan State University community, to include faculty, staff, and students.

Join us, Tuesday, September 25th, 2018 in the Student Center Ballroom as we celebrate the innovations of our faculty, staff, and students and express our gratitude to our community partners that help further the university’s mission and one of Morgan’s core values, Innovation.

Award Categories

Innovation Advocate of the Year: This individual(s) or organization within the Maryland community has demonstrated support to the university in its efforts to promote innovation and technology transfer to further economic development and public benefit in Maryland.

Intellectual Property Innovation Awards: These awards will recognize individuals who have created innovations in their respective research fields. Intellectual Property Disclosure (IPD) submissions to the OTT are considered for this award. Three finalists will be selected from the pool of active IPDs in each of the following categories:

Life Science Innovation of the Year
Physical Science Innovation of the Year
Information Science Innovation of the Year

Student Innovator of the Year: This student or group of students has developed, created, or implemented an innovation that has provided a positive impact on the university, community or State, or contributed to a new Morgan innovation.

Instructional Innovator of the Year: This faculty member has developed and/or effectively implemented an innovative approach to instruction or delivered innovative instructional content to improve student learning outcomes.

Staff Innovator of the Year: This individual has effected positive change within the Morgan infrastructure/ecosystem to increase efficiency and/or effectiveness of workplace systems or processes - generating increased productivity, lower cost or improved quality.

The student, instruction, and staff Innovator of the Year awards will be determined by nominee submissions to the Office of Technology Transfer, then selected based on award criteria guidelines.

Patent Awards: These innovation awards are presented to Morgan inventors that have been issued a U.S. Patent from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.

Event Details
Date/Time: Tuesday, September 25th / 4p.m. – 6p.m.
Location/Attire: University Student Center Ballroom / Business Casual