The School of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences (SCMNS) houses five academic departments (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science) and offers a variety of academic programs within these disciplines. SCMNS also offers students eight undergraduate programs, five graduate programs, four research programs; three research centers; and two all-encompassing student support programs. SCMNS also houses two professional programs that fully equip students for careers in medical technology and actuarial science. Please check the webpage of each department and contact the relevant department chair and/or Dean's office for more information.

On September 24, 2014, two University Innovation Fellows went to the White House to address 60 leaders from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCU) who attended a half-day Maker Workshop. Two Fellows, Jaime Aribas Starkey-El of Morgan State and Ulysses Knight of Virginia State. Jaime spoke on a panel (see video) about his efforts to bring a maker space to Morgan.

Biology Professor, Dr. Gloria Hoffman co-authors a paper in PNAS

Dr. Kadir Aslan, Assistant Dean of SCMNS, was awarded a Phase 2 Maryland Innovation Iniative (MII) grant from TEDCO based on Morgan's first patented techonology. This is Dr. Aslan's second MII Award (September 2014).


New Announcement: Mr.Erik Davenport, Ph.D. Dissertation Defense, Thursday, March 6, 2014, 2:30 pm, Dixon 125. Open to Public
Title: "Assessing Ecosystem Vulnerability to Hurricane Effects" 
The primary objective of this research was to develop a framework of metrics for quantification and comparison of the ecological effects from hurricanes in coastal ecosystems. Many commercially important fishery species inhabit marine ecosystems that are exposed to risk from hurricane events. Understanding how the effects of hurricanes on biological production in coastal ecosystems is important for forecasting potential impacts to fishery resources. It is hypothesized that ecosystem stability and structure will display different levels of vulnerability to the passage of hurricanes with similar wind and precipitation. Through the use of a numerical simulations models, changes to biological production are examined relative to presumed changes in environmental factors caused by hurricane winds and precipitation. The results of these simulations are compared to observations in the literature. Vulnerability of ecosystems to hurricanes and the utility of numerical simulations as a resource management strategy are discussed. 

SCMNS Associate Dean and Professor Gaston N'Guerekata is featured in an African magazine.

SCMNS introduces "Extreme Science Internships: A joint program of Morgan State University and the Hopkins Extreme Materials Institute at Johns Hopkins University"
Program Details:
The Hopkins Extreme Materials Institute at the Johns Hopkins University will provide an estimated $100,000 per year thru 2016 to Morgan State University to establish and run the Extreme Science Internships (ESI) program.  This program provides funds for selected Morgan State University undergraduates to spend 8-15 weeks working at any of the participating research universities, the Army Research Laboratory, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, and companies listed below. Each ESI must be focused on research related to the Center for Materials in Extreme Dynamic Environments managed by HEMI (www.cmede.hemi.edu).

In addition to the research experiences and knowledge gained through this program, ESI students will have the opportunity to develop invaluable connections with practicing scientists and engineers. They will build networks and relationships that are expected to provide job opportunities with the companies and access to graduate degree programs at the participating institutions.

Application process (Application form is available here)
Morgan State undergraduates may apply for ESI support through the ESI office at Morgan State University, reporting to Professor Alvin Kennedy, Dean of the School of Computer Science, Natural Sciences, & Mathematics. The deadline for applications will be defined by the ESI office

Research News: The National Science Foundation awards a grant of $45,973 to Morgan State University for support of the project, entitled "MRI: Acquisition of Atomic and Magnetic Force Microscopy," is under the direction of Dr. Dereje Seifu (Interim Chair of Physics).