About Us

The School of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences (SCMNS) houses five academic departments (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science). SCMNS offers students eight undergraduate programs, five graduate programs, four research programs; three research centers; and two all-encompassing student support programs. SCMNS also houses two professional programs that fully equip students for careers in medical technology and actuarial science. Please check the webpage of each department and contact the relevant department chair and/or Dean's office for more information.


Dr. Seifu presented at the IEEE NANO 2016 International Conference on NANOTECHNOLOGY in Sandai, Japan. Research paper to be published in IEEE Xplore.

Dr. Sitther's graduate student Mr. Behnam Tabatabai presented research titled "Identification of a halotolerant mutant via in vitro mutagenesis in the cyanobacterium Fremyella diplosiphon" at the Mid Atlantic Plant Molecular Biology Society meeting in August 2016.

Dr. Seifu's students Mr. Dennis Ayree (Graduate student) and Moses Kayondo (undergraduate) presented research results at the 2016 American Physical Society March Meeting.

Dissertation research proposals of the Bioenvironmental Science Ph.D. candidates Mr. Enock Bonyi (Aslan), Mrs. Zainab Boone-Kukoyi (Aslan) and Mr. Behnam Tabatabi (Sitther) have been approved by their respective committees.

Morgan State University Mathematics Ph.D. student Ms. Zeinab Bandpey is in the Frederick newspaper.

Morgan State University, 23rd Annual Undergraduate and Graduate Science Research Symposium
Thursday, April 14, 2016, 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM at Morgan State University Student Center (See you next year)

Dr. Aslan receives a subaward ($89,843 for 1 year) from Juxtopia, LLC (NIH STTR phase 1 award based on the technology described in Morgan's recent patent application, Metal-Assisted and Microwave-Accelerated Evaporative Crystallization (April 2015).

Aslan Research Group's MA-MAEC "Metal-assisted and microwave-accelerated evaporative crystallization" technology was awarded an US Patent No: 9,243,017 (January 26, 2016). This is Morgan's first-ever full patent in its 148-history. iCrystal, Inc., Morgan's first-ever spin off company was established based on the MA-MAEC technology, supported by Maryland Innoation Initiative (MII) administered by TEDCO..

MSU Undergraduate Students and Program Directors Represent Morgan State University at the 2015 Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students (ABRCMS) in Seattle, Washington. A total of 33 undergraduate students from 9 distinct majors (Biology, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Psychology, Physical Education, Nursing, Sociology, and Medical Technology) at Morgan State University participated in the conference, and 9 of these presented their research in areas that included neuroscience, social and behavioral sciences and public health, chemistry, biochemistry, molecular and computational biology, and cancer biology 2015 ABRCMS conference. was awarded to Mr. Jamiu Giwa-Otusajo, a Biology senior supported by the NSF S-STEM STARS-1 Scholarship Program was awarded a full ABRCMS Student Travel Award, which covered the cost of airfare and hotel accommodations, to attend and present a poster presentations of his research entitled ""Effect of Nitrogen Deprivation on the Photosynthetic Efficacy of Fremyella diplosiphon."

SCMNS Graduate Programs and faculty host several exchange faculty and graduate students from Turkey: Dr. Mustafa Yildiz (Aslan, 2014), Dr. Fatma Aydin (Aslan, 2014), Dr. Ilknur Babacan (Aslan, 2015-2016), Dr. Salih Toker (Aslan, 2015-2016), Dr. Mustafa Avci (Pankov, 2014-2015), Mr. Nuh Alpaslan (Rahman, 2015-2016), Mrs. Zuhal Onuk (Aslan, 2015-2017), Ms. Setenay Akduman (Pankov, 2015) and Qatar (Dr. Sophia Rajini (Sitther, 2015).

Ph.D. Program in Bioenvironmental Science produces three graduates, Congratulations, Dr. Muzaffer Mohammed (Aslan), Dr. Biebele Abel (Aslan) and Dr. Erik Davenport (Fan) (May 2015).