Founding Director: Dr. Sandye Jean McIntyre, II
Director: Dr. Carleen S. Leggett

Graduates and graduate students from Morgan State University have been awarded Fulbright or Fulbright-related grants to the following countries: Belgium, Cameroon, Ceylon (now Sri Lanka), China, Colombia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ghana, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Kenya, Korea, Liberia, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Romania, Russia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela, and Vietnam.

Major departments of Morgan Fulbright Scholars are extremely varied and include: Art, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Education, English, Finance, Foreign Languages, Geography, History, Mathematics, Music, Physical Education, Physics, Political Science/International Studies, Psychology, Sociology/Anthropology, Speech Communication, Theater Arts, and Urban Studies.

In addition to the Fulbright Scholarships awarded to students who apply for grants as graduating seniors or graduate students, there are also Senior Fulbright awards--received primarily by postdoctoral applicants--administered by the Department of Education, the U.S. Information Agency, and the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, to which candidates apply directly. The terms of these grants may be approximately a year, a summer, or a number of weeks, and they include such programs as teacher exchange, university lecturing, postdoctoral research, and a variety of summer seminars for educators.

A number of Morgan State University faculty members have received such awards. Dr. McIntyre, for example, was a Senior Fulbright Scholar in Israel, Senegal, Mali, Liberia, and Gambia, in addition to having won a Fulbright award to France as a predoctoral student. Dr. Leggett was a Senior Fulbrighter to Egypt and Jordan. Dr. M'bare N'gom, Chair of the Department of World Languages and International Studies, spent a semester in Peru as the holder of a Lecturing/Research Grant award and later headed a Fulbright group to the same country. Dr. Glenn Phillips (History/Geography) won Fulbrights to Nigeria, Kenya/Tanzania, Egypt, Senegal/Cameroon, Liberia. Dr. Joseph Overton (former Chair, Political Science/International Studies) received Senior Fulbright grants to Pakistan, Japan, and Korea. Other faculty members who were Senior Fulbrighters include: Dr. Ruth Connell, Prof. Cedric Dyce, Dr. Ali Emdad, Dr. Stefan Goodwin, Dr. Marlene Greer-Chase, Dr. James Hudson, Dr. Azza Mohamed Kamal, Prof. Betty Keat, Prof. James Lewis, Dr. Paul Logan, Dr. Esther Ridley, Dr. Daniel Skinner, Dr. Sarah Smiley, Dr. Iola Ragins Smith, Dr. Maurice St.-Pierre, Dr. John Sweeney, and Prof. Alvin Thornton.

Former Fulbrighters who are both Morgan graduates and are or have been members of Morgan's administration and faculty include: the late Dr. Michael Bayton (English), Ms. Brenda Brown (History), Dr. Max Hilaire (Chair, Political Science), Dr. Burney Hollis (Dean, College of Liberal Arts), Dr. Margaret A. Reid (English), Prof. Kenneth Royster (Fine Arts), and Dr. Iantha Tucker (Health/Physical Education/Recreation/Dance).

The typical predoctoral Fulbright Scholar from Morgan applies for the grant during the last year of his or her undergraduate studies, although graduate students are also eligible to apply. After a very lengthy procedure of filling out complicated forms, obtaining transcripts and letters of reference, the applications are forwarded to New York to the Institute of International Education, which oversees the program, then considered by National Screening Committees. Candidates who successfully pass the preliminary competition are so informed by the Institute, and the dossiers are forwarded, for final decisions, to the countries to which application was made. Students who are ultimately chosen as Fulbright Scholars have the opportunity to study abroad for a full academic year with, in most cases, all expenses paid. Some students are chosen as Teaching Assistants, aiding in English conversation instruction.

Campus activity annually involves publicizing the program among potential applicants and providing to them continuous guidance in acquiring, understanding, and completing the extensive and complex application materials. Dr. Leggett credits the tremendous success of Morgan's program to Dr. McIntyre's setting up and carrying through of a careful, comprehensive, and very time-consuming system of aid to each student applicant. Dr. McIntyre pointed out in turn that over half of the grants which Morgan students have received have been awarded during Dr. Leggett's tenure as Associate Director and that both he and she have been unswervingly dedicated to helping applicants present the very best possible applications for evaluation.

Fulbright Scholars from Morgan have often stressed not only the academic advantages of studying in a foreign milieu, but the personal and cultural rewards as well, the enlightenment gained from close contact with new languages and ways of life. Ms. Rachel Irving (Fulbrighter to Korea), now employed in Morgan's Office of Public Relations, has assumed as a special mission encouraging as many eligible students as possible to apply for a Fulbright opportunity. Mr. William Benjamin (Fulbrighter to Cameroon), who hosted the popular WEAA-FM radio show, "Profiles on Africa," often credits his Fulbright experience with changing the entire direction of his life and career. Dr. McIntyre himself continued, during his five and a half decades of work with the program, to underline the inestimable value to the individual student of changing from a parochial to an international perspective on life and the benefits to all of the increased mutual understanding among nations which results from the cumulative experiences of the Fulbright Scholars.